Skip to content

Selfmadevip
Dear SMV members, we are making SMV more success oriented. From now on copyrighted material posts will be removed from SMV. Only discussion on success oriented topics is allowed. Thank you. Viktorados

What is the purpose of your Life?

Asking yourself right questions can often speed up your way towards the life of your dreams

Moderator : developing_success

What is the purpose of your Life?

Post by sky on Tue Jul 01, 2008 10:16 am

This thing frustrates me so much. :!:

How many of you have an idea about the purpose of your life I am not talking about the vague notions like - making money, being happy, helping people and all this kind of stuff.

I am 23. I have an Engineering degree from a decent college and I could easily get placed for a decent paying job (and make some donation to this website :) ). But I just dont like the idea. I dont want to be an engineer. It just doesnt interest. People commend me for having done very well in academics and all that but I feel so hollow inside. Like all these years, all this education meant nothing. And most people around me, my friends are so enchanted by the probable pay package they are going to get that they dont care what kind of work they will be doing They are essentially trading their time ( the prime of their life) for money. Their idea of 'happiness' seems to be working their asses off so that they could earn some money to blow off at the nightclubs on weekends. They tell me that you will inevitably have to make some compromise and settle for something. Their reactions seems to indicate that 'Work is No Fun and it will never be no matter how hard you try to find it'.

I have been in this self development mode for about 2.5 years now. And from time to time this inability to pinpoint the exact purpose of my life has bothered me terribly.

I am aware of my values. some of those for instance are:

-Being genuine/authentic
-Being considerate to other beings (including animals)